New Post: January, 2013

Y’all. I just can’t help it. It’s been trying to bust outta me all week long. On Monday during the inauguration, every time there was an “I, Barak H. Obama” moment I’d giggle. All I could think was, “I’ll bet that’s what Jesus’ middle name was!” You know, Jesus H. Christ.

Earlier I heard Daniel lecturing Atticus: “Saying ‘sorry’ doesn’t fix anything. You’re just saying that to make yourself feel better, but it doesn’t actually fix anything.” And immediately afterward Daniel walked into the dining room where I was sitting, farted, and walked back out, leaving me with the cloud of stink. I shouted about it, and he said “Sorry”, and I said…you got it… “‘Sorry’ doesn’t fix anything!” And then we both ran out of the room giggling.

One of my goals for 2013 is to see at least one sunrise per week (I’m insufferably lazy in the mornings and need a little extra discipline in this area). So far, my scheduled early mornings are all on overcast, rainy days. I was really hoping to get into this habit while sunrise occurred somewhere between 7-8am and ease myself into those earlier rises that are coming along very soon. Meanwhile, I’m anxious for Punxsutawney Phil to wake up to an overcast sky next weekend. I need spring this year more desperately than I’ve needed it in awhile.

I was going to post this as a status update on Facebook, but I told myself I might try this old blog out again. Since the last post 8 months ago I feel like so many things have changed. My life has changed; my self has changed. I heard a report on the radio about how much a person changes over time, yet how little we expect to change. This idea is sort of an obsession of mine. Listen here:

You Can’t See It, But You’ll Be A Different Person In 10 Years

I realized recently that I have been living my life as though it were a story I’d eventually tell someone. I keep sitting around, waiting for new plot points that will shift me into the next chapter. I keep wondering who I’ll be then instead of becoming her now. My “seemingly essential self” is hovering on the balls of its feet, anticipating the next big shift and ready to dive in. But all that really needs to happen is for my seemingly essential self to get off its ass and take the first step. Everything is always about taking one step. And when you come to the edge of things, do a 180° turn, and take one step. I think I’ve arrived at the edge of things and am in the process of that 180° spin.

So…yeah. Let’s do this thing.

1 comment
  1. Love this post!! Can’t wait to read more!! Don’t make me wait 8 months until the next post!

Leave a Reply

