Picking Up Where We Left Off

So, it’s been 6 months, but let’s not get our panties in a goofy wad over that. I’m loosening up my fingers and gonna give this another go. There may be some changes ahead, so read at your own risk. Thanks for your patience as I’ve gotten over myself a little bit this last year. One day maybe I’ll tell you all about it.

Now that that’s out of the way…!!!  I left off with Shel Silverstein, so I’ll start back with him. Good ol’ Shel has a brand new book of poetry out! Published in September, this newest posthumous collection is titled Every Thing On It, and you can buy it for me for only $11.95. I mean, buy it for yourself.

The opening poem made me cry in the children’s section of stupid Barnes and Noble:

Although I cannot see your face
As you flip these poems awhile
Somewhere from some far-off place
I hear you laughing–and I smile.

What can I say? He’s been my favorite for about 2 decades.  The reason I’m going to get my brain juices flowing again here (or maybe somewhere else . . . I’ll keep you posted) is because of this gem that I found at the end of Every Thing On It:

When I am gone what will you do?
Who will write and draw for you?
Someone smarter–someone new?
Someone better–maybe YOU!

So, here I find myself again, picking up where I left off. Undoubtedly wiser as well as older. Certainly in a better frame of mind than when we last saw each other.

here I go down circle road strong and hopeful hearted through the dust and wind up just exactly where I started

10 comments
  1. Can’t wait to read more. If you haven’t purchased the book, I’d love to buy it for you.

    • alltheseblessedthings said:

      A lovely little Christmas gift?
      I’m hoping to write here regularly again.

  2. i’m hoping you write here regularly again. you were my primary blogging inspiration. how i miss you so!

    • alltheseblessedthings said:

      You’re wonderful, Sherilin. And a much better blogger than I am. I did just get some really wonderful material listening to Daniel reading Green Eggs and Ham though….. It’s funny how that happens.

  3. Grace said:

    Welcome back! The blogosphere has missed you. :)

    • alltheseblessedthings said:

      Thanks, Grace. :) I’ve missed being here.

  4. LaLa said:

    you and shel are some kind of wonderful. loved reading your words today.

    • alltheseblessedthings said:

      Love and miss you, Lala.

  5. meldenius said:

    A nice little treat to read as I sit down to resume my own writing this morning. Go for it!

    • alltheseblessedthings said:

      :) Thanks for the encouragement, sir. …I just about read resume as resumé, though, and that got me nervous for a minute. I hope you have a productive writing break.

Leave a Reply

