Zombies and Terror

Today is 9/11/10.  While everyone is remembering where they were on this date 9 years ago, I’m thinking of my own life and the long-lasting effects terrorism has had on my everyday existence.

I’d started my senior year of college and was crushing on Daniel.  It was pretty obvious that the feelings were mutual, but he was chicken and was playing it cool just being flirty with me.  We attended a Christian university, and acts of terror upon the country were seen (by many in the Christian community not necessarily those at my specific university) not only as an offensive against our American free life but also as a flagrant violation of our spiritual heritage and a clear sign of the imminent apocalypse.  Crippled Armed with fear hope, Daniel decided it was high time to admit his feelings of admiration to me.  So, on September 12, 2001 he bought me tea at Books-A-Million and spilled his guts.

I can’t help but think of that scene toward the end of Shaun of the Dead.  Shaun and his recently ex girlfriend Liz are the last to survive the zombie takeover.  They’ve got two shells left for the shotgun and are trying to decide exactly how to end it.  Shaun says, “I don’t think I’ve got it in me to shoot my flatmate, my mum and my girlfriend all in the same evening.”  And Liz says, “What makes you think I’ve taken you back?”  To which Shaun replies, “Well . . . you don’t want to die single, do you?”

Uh, yeah, something like that.

Man, did I just raise a toast to terrorism while comparing Daniel’s telling me he liked me to being under threat of zombie attack?  That was not where this post was supposed to go.  (But I do have a huge crush on Simon Pegg.)

10 comments
  1. cholle said:

    is it possible to not have a crush on simon pegg?

    • alltheseblessedthings said:

      For crazy people maybe. And did you know that you can watch Spaced online?!

  2. And Shaun of the Dead was one of his best. I loved the fact that he got to keep is best friend who wasn’t really all that much different after he was zombified.

    • alltheseblessedthings said:

      Like a weird little pet. I was very very concerned at the end of the movie and was relieved it all turned out ok. I think Shaun of the Dead was one of those movies I will never fully recover from–even if it’s only because of my forever-crush. He makes me laugh in just about anything.

  3. Christy said:

    Jason and I had our first date during the 9/11 attacks. We were walking on the beach, watching the sunrise on Hilton Head Island. It was so blissful and wonderful and then so shocking to come back from the beach and realize what the rest of the world had just experienced.

    I remember that the ocean took my flip flop and we searched for it, but with no luck. I ended up throwing my other flip flop into the ocean out of frustration while also trying to be flirty. I remember someone coming along and telling us that if we made a bunch of friction in the sand with our feet, we could see crystals the aliens had left on the beach for us humans. I remember Jason taking my hand for the first time and how my heart fluttered. It’s so sad to know what else was going on during those moments.

    I know my 9/11 experience was much different than that of the rest of the world. But, I guess when you’re at the beach with no technology, it’s hard to know what’s going on in the real world. Of course, we mourned along with everyone else once we watched the media coverage.

    I would say that 9/11 brought us much closer together in the first stages of our relationship, too. It’s neat to see how 9/11 brought another couple together in spite of the horror of that day. Happy (Dating) Anniversary to you!

    • alltheseblessedthings said:

      Oh, wow! So interesting…and happy dating anniversary to you, too. I’m sure we’re not the only ones with this sort of experience.

  4. sherilin said:

    brooke’s a post 9-11 baby. lots & lots of babies were born 9-12 months after the attacks & she was one of them. i think everyone needed to find that comfort & security somewhere then.

    • alltheseblessedthings said:

      Ha! Hadn’t thought of that.

  5. Cape said:

    The morning of 9/11, I was busy working at chapel, where the pastor was trying to scare everyone into getting saved.

    Also, I got yelled at by Paul Conn’s wife. How could such a cool guy have such a (insert foul term here) wife?

    • alltheseblessedthings said:

      I’m sure that’s what people ask about Daniel, too. We were hiding in Dixon Center, so we were able to tune it out a little bit.

Leave a Reply

